Connecticut Auto Accidents and Teen Driving Laws
There is encouraging news out of the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles regarding teenage driver safety. In 2004, Connecticut adopted the motor vehicle laws that restrict 16 and 17 year old drivers. Since then, there have been some dramatic improvements in teenage driver auto accident injuries:
- There are 82% less car accident driver deaths
- A 62% decrease in the deaths of 16 and 17 year old as compared to before the laws were put into place.
Now the state is adding an additional level of training where parents are required to attend a two-hour training class with their teen. The same news cites a Travelers Insurance Survey that teenage drivers are influenced by their parents’ driving habits. It also cites distracted driving as an ongoing issue with younger inexperienced drivers.
While this is terrific news, the truth is accidents with teen drivers still happen. If you or a loved one have been injured in an car accident involving a teen driver you may need an attorney to help you file a claim. Find out if you need the help of an attorney for your car accident claim here.