Connecticut Drivers Could See an Increase in Fines for Cell Phone Use
As a licensed driver in the state of Connecticut you already know that state law prohibits the use of handheld devices, including mobile phones, while operating a motor vehicle.
While state-by-state statistics are not available on distracted driving, the NHTSA reports that 20% of all accidents nationwide were caused by some distraction.
Several public hearings are being held by the State General Assembly’s Transportation Committee. Those hearings involve increasing penalties for texting while driving, distracted driving and holding a handheld device while driving. The current penalties are $150 for the first violation, $300 for the second violation, and $500 for the third and subsequent violations.
If you or a loved one were injured in a Connecticut auto accident, depending on the nature of your injuries, you might be able to handle the claim yourself. Find out if you should hire an attorney to help with your claim.