New Connecticut Car Seat Laws Go Into Effect
It is important for anyone traveling in a motor vehicle to understand the safety laws designed to protect them. This includes our state’s littlest passengers. The Governor signed HB 7055/PA 230 into law and it will go into effect on October 1, 2017.
The Connecticut car seat laws are as follows with the new changes bolded:
- Infants should be rear-facing until they are both a minimum of 20 lbs. and one year old. New Law: Infants should be rear-facing until they are age 2 AND weigh 30 lbs.
- Toddlers should remain in their car seat until they reach the maximum height or weight requirements of their car seat (this is typically 40 lbs., but check the manual that came with your toddler seat.) New Law: Children should remain in a 5-point harness until they are 5 years old AND weigh 40 lbs.
- Older children should be in a booster seat until they are seven years old AND 60 lbs. Children in a booster seat must use the shoulder and lap belt. New Law: Children must use a booster seat until they are 8 years old AND weigh 60 lbs.
- Once a child is out of a booster seat, they must wear a regular seat belt while riding in a vehicle.
Following these guidelines will help keep your children safe on the roads. If you or a loved one is ever in an accident, a Connecticut attorney can help you with your claim.