Understanding Connecticut Minimums on Auto Insurance Policies Part 1
If you are operating a motor vehicle in Connecticut, the law states you must also have insurance coverage. Insurance terminology can be confusing. The following is information on understanding your Connecticut auto insurance policy.
Liability insurance – Covers injuries to others as well as any property damage of others caused by you or any person given permission to operate your vehicle. The state of Connecticut mandates that all policies cover $10,000 in property damage and minimum of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per auto accident for bodily injury.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage – Covers you and any of the passengers in your vehicle where injuries are caused by an uninsured motorist, underinsured motorist (they do not have enough liability insurance to cover your injuries) or a hit-and-run auto accident. The coverage amount is the same as liability insurance. Additional coverage may be purchased.
Collision coverage – Covers the damage to your vehicle if you are ever in an auto accident. There is usually a deductible that must be covered prior to repairs or replacement.
The is the first in a two part series on Connecticut auto insurance coverage. If you or a loved one have been in an auto accident, you might be able to settle the case yourself with the insurance company. Find out here.