What Are the Stages of Prostate Cancer?

Thursday, March 19th, 2015 by | Posted In: Medical Malpractice

gleason-scoreOnce you or your loved one has received a prostate cancer diagnosis, there are still so many questions to be answered. One question is, to what stage has the prostate cancer progressed? To make this determination, the patient will need to undergo further testing.

Stage 1 Prostate Cancer
Cancer cells are limited to the prostate gland only and found in one-half or less of one lobe of the prostate (the prostate gland has four lobes). The PSA (prostate-specific antigen) number is 10.0 or higher and the Gleason score is 6 or lower.

Stage 2A Prostate Cancer
Cancer cells are still only in the prostate gland with a PSA between 10.0 and 20.0 and a Gleason score between 6 and 7. Cancer is found in more than one-half of one lobe of the prostate.

Stage 2B Prostate Cancer
Found in opposite sides of the prostate with a PSA of 20.0 or higher and a Gleason score of 8 or higher.

Stage 3 Prostate Cancer
Cancer cells have spread beyond the prostate, possibly into the seminal vesicles. PSA level can be at any level and the Gleason score can range from 2 to 10.

Stage 4 Prostate Cancer
Can have any PSA level and a Gleason score between 2 and 10. The cancer has also spread to surrounding organs including the bladder, rectum, and pelvic wall.The cancer may have spread to both nearby and distant lymph nodes.

If you believe you or your loved one’s prostate cancer was due to a negligent delay, contact our office immediately.


Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Tell Us
Your Story
Website design and maintenance by De Young Media.